2024 Women's AfconQ: Nora Häuptle calls 23 Black Queens for Rwanda clash - Footy Dreams

Footy Dreams

Your best portal for accurate and precise Sports news.

2024 Women’s AfconQ: Nora Häuptle calls 23 Black Queens for Rwanda clash

2 min read

Black Queens coach, Nora Häuptle has announced a roster of 23 players set to assemble for the crucial 2024 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifier against Rwanda.

Having endured the disappointment of missing out on the last edition in 2022, the Ghana senior women’s national team is now determined to stage a triumphant return to the grand stage of the 12-team continental showpiece.

The Black Queens’ journey begins with a tricky first-round showdown against the ‘She Amavubi’.

The first leg is scheduled to unfold at the iconic Kigali Pelé Stadium on Wednesday, September 20, followed by the return leg hosted by Ghana six days later.

Coach Nora Häuptle has meticulously selected her squad for this critical campaign, featuring the inclusion of Turkey-based winger, Alice Kusi, who has recovered from her injury Fenerbahçe.

Furthermore, midfield maestro Grace Acheampong, who plies her trade with Kazakhstan league leaders Biik Kazygurt, returns to the squad after an extended absence from international duties.

As the countdown to the showdown intensifies, the Black Queens will depart Accra on September 17, bound for Kigali, with sights set firmly on securing a favourable first-leg result.

Should Ghana successfully navigate past Rwanda, they will find themselves in the second round facing the winner of the Gambia-Namibia tie, with a coveted spot in the 15th edition of the Women’s Afcon in Morocco at stake.

Below is the list of the players who have received the call-up for this crucial start to the 2024 Women’s Afcon qualifiers:

Ernestina Abambila (Chakkarigücü Spor)

Anasthesia Achiaa (Beylerbeyd)

Vivian Adjei Konadu (Ferencvárosi TC)

Grace Acheampong (Biik Kazygurt)

Princella Adubea (Kiryat Gat)

Adama Alhassan (Army Ladies)

Susan Ama Duah (Avaldsnes FC)

Mary Amponsah (Ampem Darkoa Ladies)

Grace Asantewaa (FC Juarez)

Gifty Assifuah (MFA Zalgiris)

Evelyn Badu (Avaldsnes FC)

Doris Boaduwaa (Spartak Subotica)

Portia Boakye (Djurgårdens)

Azumah Bugre (IFK Norrköping)

Jennifer Cudjoe (FC Nordsjælland)

Janet Egyir (Hapoel Jerusalem Katamon)

Linda Eshun (Prottabandalag Reykjavíkur)

Cynthia Findib Konlan (Al Hilal)

Alice Kusi (Fenerbahçe Spor Kulübü)

Kerrie McCarthy (Kumasi Sports Academy)

Stella Nyamekye (Dreamz Ladies)

Salifu Safiatu (Yanga Princesses)

Justice Tweneboaa (Biik Kazygurt)

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *